For the Love of Hobbies

Nervous energy and a crap ton of hobbies….

Today, we are moving into the 3rd House¬†traditionally ruled by Gemini. After the heaviness of the last two, I’m hoping to keep it lighter, more Gemini. This is the House of Hobbies, Siblings, Education, the Community, Local Travel, and Communication. It’s got the nervous, fast, curious energy of Mercury. It’s social and funny and witty.

So, in that spirit, I thought I would kick off with the lighter side of the first planet in this house for me: Venus. Venus is the planet of pleasure, sure, but also just in general of harmony, benefit, romantic love, and playfulness. When we add in this Gemini flavor of the 3rd House along with the fact that my Venus is in Virgo, which is on the cusp of my House, I tend to get a lot of pleasure and happiness out of a lot of different artistic hobbies that involve a certain amount of technique and analysis.

I have waaaaaaayyyy too many hobbies. They come naturally, which is nice (thank you, Venus), but I have far too many to¬†really¬†master any of them. And I’ve noticed they tend to go in cycles. I’ll go through a drawing phase, a writing phase, a reading phase, an arranging (furniture, flowers, art) phase, a singing phase, a dancing phase, a learning phase, a movie phase, an instrumental phase, a cooking phase, a crocheting/cross-stitching phase….. The Virgo side makes me critical of my performance in each of them and I go hardcore on the research and technique, trying to improve and improve quickly….. and then I get bored and I’m on to the next one. Usually when I stick with something for longer, there’s friends or conversation about it involved. One of my most artistic phases was when I was in Korea taking my Myth of Manga course. We were combining learning about illuminated texts from around the world and basing our own artwork on the style. It was fascinating and I was able to produce a rather large portfolio of a variety of detailed work.

Manga Work
Some of the work I did in class. Just a fraction.

That might not sound like a lot of fun to everyone, but I’ve come to terms with it and I enjoy having enough skill in so many areas to be able to play without having an obsession with perfectionism that really requires I pursue it. That being said, I would like to get better about completing some of my hobby projects. Here are some I might consider doing within the next few weeks:

  • I am currently reading 6 books: 2 soul quest kind of books, 3 novels, and a farce.
  • I have a cross stitch piece I have about a third to a half done.
  • I have a painting I’ve been meaning to do.
  • I have a bedroom I need to finish painting and arranging (I’m so close…).
  • I did get a part in the play (which is actually kind of a relief), but I have volunteered to work on the set.
  • I have a couple of drawings started, but not finished.
  • I have been meaning to go back to All Glazed Up and do another pottery piece.
  • I haven’t been to karaoke in several months. That’s just wrong.
  • I want to write the next part of my Lust story posted here.

I’m just going to stop there for now. There’s so much more…. But this week, I’m going to make it my goal to pick one thing, just one, and finish it. I’ll post it on here somewhere. And in the ADD nature of Gemini, I am going to finish up and figure out which one of these is gonna get my full attention.

 

Author: saharanstarshadow

I'm a mother, a workaholic, a veteran, a pagan, and a queer woman. I have spent the last 18 months in therapy for MST and PTSD and have decided to spend the next year on my spiritual journey.

Leave a Reply

